DUI and Other Auto-Related Crimes
Koohanim Law provides experienced legal defense for vehicular crimes, including DUI, driving without a license, and reckless driving. As one of the leading criminal defense firms in the Los Angeles area, Koohanim Law has helped many clients avoid serious penalties that would otherwise lead to jail time, heavy fines and harm to their personal and professional reputations.
California DUI Laws
The following is illegal in the State of California:
- Drivers under 21:
- Driving with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of .01 or higher.
- Drivers under 18:
- Driving with ANY measurable BAC.
- All drivers:
- Driving with a BAC of .08 or higher.
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of .04 or higher.
- Repeat offenders:
- Driving with a BAC of .01 or higher.
The State of California has strict driving laws, including a zero tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 18 and for repeat offenders. If you are charged with a DUI, you could face jail time, large fines, loss of driving privileges, and a public record that may damage your career and your personal relationships. Koohanim Law has the resources and experience to defend you from arrest to post-trial appeals.
Driving on a Suspended License
Drivers may lose their license for a number of offenses. According to the California DMV1, a few common reasons the DMV may suspend your license include:
- Failure to appear in court after receiving a traffic ticket.
- Failing to pay a fine.
- Not having proof of car insurance.
- Failing to pay required child support.
- Being caught driving when you are physically or mentally unfit to drive.
Furthermore, the DMV must suspend or revoke your driver’s license if you are convicted of a DUI.
According to California Vehicle Code Section 14602.6: if you are caught by a police officer while driving with a suspended license, the police officer may arrest you and seize your vehicle2. According to California Vehicle Code Section 14601, the penalties for driving on a suspended license include:
- A minimum sentence of five days in jail and a $300 fine and a maximum sentence of 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine for a first sentence.
- Subsequent offenses carry a maximum sentence of one year in jail and a maximum fine of $2,0003.
Penalties may even be higher if your license suspension is due to a DUI or if the state considers you to be a habitual traffic offender.
If you are facing a charge of driving on a suspended license, or if you are facing a charge which may result in a suspended license, contact Koohanim Law today. We will fight your charge and may be able to prevent serious penalties.
Other Vehicular Crimes
- Reckless driving
- Hit and run
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Habitual Traffic Offenders
- Suspended Driver’s License
- Evading arrest
- Vehicle Tampering
The penalties for vehicular crimes vary depending on the severity of the crime. Furthermore, most cases are supported by ample police testimony and other evidence.
Call for a Consultation
If you have been charged with a vehicular offense, contact our office to discuss your defense options. Our office will design the best defense plan to fight your charges. When facing the possibility of incarceration, fines, loss of driving privileges, and marks on your permanent records, you want the best criminal defense attorneys available. Contact our office today.